top of page

Build others up

In a world where criticism is constant be the one who always encourages instead!

I am a soccer referee. You wanna talk about constant criticism?! I don't do this to build my self esteem, that's for sure. As a soccer referee, we expect the critics in the coaches and the parents, but we are also being critiqued by our peers, assessors, mentors, and instructors constantly. Every time we do a soccer game we get feedback from someone and it's usually about how we could have done something better. Rarely do we get only positives. These past couple of years have actually caused me to question why I even referee?! Thank God I have a super supportive life partner who reminds me that I am good at what I do! Sometimes, he even has to remind me that I do love refereeing! Have we created such a culture of competition that we cannot even praise our peers, or the people we are supposed to be helping? Can we not tell them, "Good job." It almost feels like it's painful for some of my mentors and instructors to tell me that I did a good job. It's tiresome and it's hurtful. Recently, someone told me that I was fast and I could cover the field well. I have "legs" he said. Do you know how encouraging that one little, dumb comment was?! Wow, someone noticed that I can run fast and be where I need to be on the soccer field. That was all I needed to feel encouraged. Thank you, Charlie, for saying that out loud.

This just gets me to thinking how important it is to cheer people on in this world, even off the soccer field!

Build others up. Say something positive! Stop being so critical of everyone all the time. The nose crinkling, sneering lips, teeth clenched, gossipy, tearing down of human hearts is exactly the opposite of love. It's debilitating for people. How can we expect other's to be successful in life, to thrive, to be creative, to live out loud, if no one is cheering them on!?

Be the cheerleader. Be the one who lifts other's up and builds them up. Don't be the ugly one, the joy sucker, the destroyer of dreams, the explosion of hate.

We are more and we can be more. We just need a little love and a lot of cheering on!

When you encourage others, you in the process are encouraged because you're making a commitment and difference in that person's life. Encouragement really does make a difference.- Zig Ziglar

Most of us, swimming against the tides of trouble the world knows nothing about, need only a bit of praise or encouragement - and we will make the goal.

-Robert Collier

8 Finally, [a]believers, whatever is true, whatever is honorable and worthy of respect, whatever is right and confirmed by God’s word, whatever is pure and wholesome, whatever is lovely and brings peace, whatever is admirable and of good repute; if there is any excellence, if there is anything worthy of praise, think continually on these things [center your mind on them, and implant them in your heart]. Phil. 4:8

bottom of page